Skip to content
Institute Council

Institute Council

Institute Council

The Institute Council consists of the following members:
PositionNameEmail Address
PresidentMr. Michael Jarrad
Western Australia:Mr. Tim Peach
Queensland:Mr. Stephen Movley
New South Wales:Mr. Rhys Edwards
Victoria:Mr. Robert Quick
Tasmania:Mr. Stephen Movley
South Australia:Mr. Derek Harris
Institute Contact PersonMr. Stephen Movley Hon
Institute Secretary:Petra

Council Committees

The Institute Council has the following Committees:
Education CommitteeMarketing CommitteeIPA Foundation Committee
Tim Peach (Chairman)Andrew Okines (Chairman)Derek Harris (Chairman)
Institute CouncillorsStephen MovleyInstitute Councillors
Stephen Movley (Publications)

Our mission

Our mission is to encourage the plumbing profession to safeguard and protect the health of the community and the environment.

To achieve this mission The Institute of Plumbing Australia Inc through its national and international membership aims to promote and encourage:

  • Professionalism
  • The exchange of information, ideas and technology
  • Ongoing education and training
  • Best practice
  • Innovation
  • Goodwill within the plumbing fraternity

Council meetings

The Institute Council meets by teleconference throughout the year and has a current policy to meet face to face at least once each year.

The Secretary and Councillors communicate by e-mail on matters requiring input between meetings.

Council business

  • Support a need for instructional design and installation handbooks to compliment minimum plumbing standards
  • Need for research to support plumbing standards and codes
  • Assistance to necessitous students and others through the IPA Foundation
  • Plumbing standards, installation practices and regulations – the need for a consistent approach across all states and territories.
  • Training package resources
  • Independent assessment of competencies prior to Licensing.
  • Higher education for plumbers – A plumbing engineer.